A Day in the Life of a Mom of 3 Boys Under the Age of 3

Welcome to our new series, Seller Stories! Where GBG customers and parents walk us through a typical day. We ask real parents how they balance their busy lives with kids and they give advice on managing life’s most important role: being a parent. 

Today’s guest: Brittany Scanlan

  • Age: 29
  • Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
  • Occupation: Full-time Stay-at-Home Mom, part-time Content Creator
  • Kids: Liam (age 3), Luke (age 2) and Ryan (age 6 months)

Tell us a bit about yourself! What is your background and what do you do now? 

I was born and raised (by an amazing single mama) in the Philadelphia suburbs. I married my high school sweetheart, with whom I have 3 sweet boys ages 3 and under. I am a former Special Education Teacher, but after I got pregnant with my oldest, my husband and I decided we would figure out a way to allow me to stay home with him…. Which led me to Social Media Content Creating, and the rest is history!

Tell us a bit about your family! How many kids do you have and what are their names? 

I have 3 kids, all boys. Liam (age 3), Luke (age 2), and Ryan (age 6 months). Our home is wild & loud, and I love every minute of it!

What’s something you wish you knew before becoming a parent? 

Oh, many things! HAHA! I wish I believed everyone that said it goes by so fast, that’s for sure! But, I also wish that I knew more about how to more appropriately designate time for myself to just be me, and not be a “mom”. With 3 young kids, it is very hard to find time for anything!

What’s it like being a mom of three boys? Do you have any tips for new or expecting parents? 

Brittany's boys Liam (age 3), Luke (age 2) and Ryan (age 6 months)

It is absolute craziness at any given moment. I don’t know what it’s like to be a girl mom, but let me tell you, being a mom to 3 boys is exhausting in all of the best and worst ways. They have so much energy, they love to eat (all day long) and rough-housing is always their go-to activity, but they are also the SWEETEST kids. They love to snuggle and there truly is no better love!

Your third child, Ryan, was born this year (congrats!). What were those must-have newborn products that got you through his first few months at home? 

Thank you so much! Being our 3rd, we’ve definitely gone through our fair share of products and found what products work best for us, and these are definitely some of our favorites:

Being a mom of three, what gear is essential for keeping you and your little ones safe and entertained? 

Now that my older two are sharing a room, a good quality, motion/sound-sensitive baby camera was a must for their room so that I can see what they are doing in there. Other safety products we wouldn’t be able to live without would be our baby gates at the top and bottom of our steps, magnetic cabinet locks in the kitchen and bathrooms, and baby-proof locks for all of the doors that lead outside.

As far as entertaining products, my toddlers LOVE their water table in the warm summer months. We also are huge fans of the Lovevery play kits, blocks and play gym. 

Can you walk us through a day in the life of you and your family?

Brittany's used baby gear she plans to sell with GoodBuy Gear

I haven’t had one day that has been even remotely similar to the day before since we started having babies, but we do usually follow a typical routine. That routine looks similar to this:

6:30-6:45 AM: Wake up, brush my teeth & shower.

6:45-7 AM: Kids wake up.

7-7:30 AM: Prepare breakfast, coffee (for me!), kids' teeth brushed, diapers changed, everyone dressed for the day, etc.

7:30-8:30 AM: Kids free play/watch a little tv while I get us all organized for the day

8:30-9:30 AM: Structured playtime with me. We love to play with Playdoh, color, practice cutting, building with blocks, paint, etc. We switch it up every day! If it’s nice outside, we use most of the morning to play outside. 

9:30-11:30 AM: Toddlers go to “school”. I usually use this time to run errands with the baby or play with him 1-on-1. 

11:30-12:30 PM: Prepare lunch, eat lunch and clean up lunch.

12:30-2:30 PM: Nap time. During nap time I like to tidy up the house, which also includes collecting anything that we no longer need/use and compiling it to sell with GoodBuy Gear! I’ve found it's easiest for me to keep track of everything I want to sell by putting it all together in a pile. Once that pile gets to be 5-10 items or more, I schedule a pickup or drop-off with Goodbuy Gear. (And that is ALL I have to do! They take care of the rest!)

2:30-4 PM: Kids start waking up from their naps. We like to play outside (if nice weather), and get a little snack.

4-5:30 PM: I prepare dinner, we eat dinner, & I clean up dinner. 

5:30-6:45 PM: More free play time.

6:45-7:30 PM: Bedtime routine! Our routine usually looks like baths, pajamas on, read a couple of books, sound machine on and in beds.

7:30-10:30 PM: Finally a chance to relax!

Any other parenting tips or advice you’d like to share? 

Never dismiss advice others give you (some of it may actually be helpful-take it with a grain of salt), but in the end, always do what is best for YOU and YOUR family. 

For more Seller Stories, check out: A Day in the Life of a Stay-at-Home Mom in Philly or How Two Dads Find the Fun in Parenting 

This series is meant to provide an inside look at an individual’s experience. Parenting is personal. All opinions and thoughts are their own and do not necessarily reflect GoodBuy Gear’s point of view. 

Interested in selling with us? Sign up here

Do you have a Seller Story you’d like to share? Contact us here

Bio: Brittany Scanlan is a wife and mama to 3 boys, sharing real-life moments in motherhood. Born and raised in the suburbs of Philadelphia. 

Website: http://thescanlanstory.com/ 




Explore Related Articles

Join the Village

Sign up for our newsletter to geek out on new gear, practical tips & exclusive offers.
Please enter valid email & phone

Thanks for joining us!

Check your email for a confirmation message.

Please enter a valid email